Frankenstein: Final Thoughts

I don’t remember the first time I saw Frankenstien.

For years, my Dad showed it (along with the rest of Universal’s horror catalogue) to me and my younger sisters, part of the annual Halloween tradition, carrying on a love for classic horror that he’d gained himself from watching creature-features when he was young.  As such, I genuinely don’t remember a time before I knew James Whale’s Frankenstein.

Considering this, I tried to clear my head the best I could when I sat down to watch and review this film for this particular blog.  Even so, with relative objectivity, I’m happy to say that the film deserves its reputation.

As a huge fan of not only horror, but science fiction (and speculative fiction in general), the story of Frankenstein is a quintessential one for each individual genre.  Its characters, while exaggerated, are incredibly well-realized, distinct, energetic, and dynamic even decades later, notably Boris Karloff’s performance as the monster remains as electric and striking as it was when the film first came out.  The effects remain visually interesting and pleasing, and the whole idea of the story is just as gripping as it was almost ninety years ago.  The entire tone of the film is incredibly atmospheric, creepy and compelling.  It’s no wonder this film was a colossal hit.

Frankenstein, while not necessarily oriented for children, is the rare horror film that is suitable for most ages.  The scares aren’t too upsetting for children, and as it is, people of young age tend to love this movie as much as those a bit older, all united in the same concern for the monster.  In the end, that’s really who the movie is aimed at: people with sympathy for the monster.

The film’s audience must be able to identify with the monster, or the effect of the movie is lost.  Frankenstein is aimed at people who can look at the questions that it asks, and think about them, without seeing the conflict in black and white, people who can enjoy the scares and spectacle but also understand the introspection and tragedy.  

And as such, it has never lacked an audience.

Since its initial release in 1931, Frankenstein has easily been counted among the most beloved and greatest films of all time, routinely hailed as one of the horror classics, with an impact clearly seen on horror films to this day.  It more than deserves its place here, among the greats, compelling in every sense of the word and constantly asking its viewers to think, critically, about who the real monster is, here.  A package deal of a great story, fantastic performances, and some genuinely spooky scenery, Frankenstein is a movie that continues to speak to audiences for the simple reason that it really is that good.

Personal Stats: 

Favorite Character: Gotta be the monster.  Karloff’s performance is incredible, and makes you feel for a character that in less capable hands, could have been a mindless brute.

Favorite Scene: The ‘raising the monster’ sequence.  It’s a classic for a reason.

Bonus!  Favorite Line/Dialogue:   Another classic: “Look! It’s moving. It’s alive. It’s alive… It’s alive, it’s moving, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, IT’S ALIVE!”

In a less cliched vein, a close second is: “Well, as I said before, here I say again, Here’s… Here’s to a son… to the House of Frankenstein.”

Movie Ranking: Objective 10/10.  Subjective 10/10.  I’d be more than happy to buy it special edition!
Thank you so much for reading along with our study of Frankenstein!  I hope you enjoyed it, and I hope to see you in the next article.

Published by RetroactiveReviewer

I'm a big twentieth-century (and a little 21st!) movie and TV buff, and I love musical theater, weightlifting, writing, and reading! I run a movie and tv-analysis/review blog, write, and run a fitness YouTube channel!

One thought on “Frankenstein: Final Thoughts

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started