12 Angry Men: Final Thoughts

Along with Casablanca, 12 Angry Men was one of the rare films I saw during my quest to watch all of the ‘classics’ that I actually enjoyed.  Despite being somewhere around fourteen, a little young, perhaps, to grasp all of the heavy concepts being used, I found myself deeply invested in the story and characters, and gripped by the drama.  As someone who’s typical movie fare consisted of (and still consists of) comedies and action films, my level of respect and genuine enjoyment of this film somewhat surprised me, in a very pleasant way.

When we first started this analysis, I asked whether or not this film earned the reputation it has cultivated in the years since its release, genuinely a great film, or just exaggerated over time.  As for an answer?

Frankly, this film is just that good.

I saw this film just after Casablanca, further bolstering my opinion that maybe not all ‘classic’ films were uninteresting and slow.  Between the problems that the film addressed and the emotional core at the center of it, the film really made an impact on me.  It, like Casablanca, felt like it meant something.  Even though the characters had no names, even though there was no action and the film remained confined to one location, even though we never find out whether or not the jury made the right call, I loved it.  Watching the movie four years later, it really holds up.

The realistic dialogue, the characters, even the realistic situation is incredibly gripping to watch, and while it might go over the heads of younger kids, the film can be enjoyed by anybody with the maturity to grasp what’s going on, although it is specifically targeted at adults.  The film’s portrayal of adult attitudes and opinions is more likely to impact teenagers and older, with quite an emotional punch that just gets stronger every time I see it.  There’s a sense of inspiration, of hope that justice can be done, and that we can be a part of it to make it work.

12 Angry Men more than deserves its hard-earned reputation as one of the greatest movies ever made.  It’s gripping and emotional story, realistic characters and relevant attitudes are no less effective over sixty years since it’s original release.  Indeed, 12 Angry Men is a film that still does, and will continue to affect audiences because of its brilliant simplicity and emotional complexity.  In other words?  

Like I said earlier, it’s just that good.

Personal Stats:

Favorite Character: Juror #8, hands down.  How can he not be?  He’s honest, strong-minded, and strong-willed.  Tied for second favorite are Jurors #9 and #5.

Favorite Scene: The demonstration of the stab wound and how the knife was held.  Very tense, considering nothing really happens.

Bonus!  Favorite Line/Dialogue:

“It’s always difficult to keep personal prejudice out of a thing like this. And wherever you run into it, prejudice always obscures the truth. I don’t really know what the truth is. I don’t suppose anybody will ever really know. Nine of us now seem to feel that the defendant is innocent, but we’re just gambling on probabilities – we may be wrong. We may be trying to let a guilty man go free, I don’t know. Nobody really can. But we have a reasonable doubt, and that’s something that’s very valuable in our system. No jury can declare a man guilty unless it’s sure.”

Movie Ranking: Objective 10/10.  Subjective 10/10.  I’d buy it on Special Edition!

Thank you so much for reading along with our study of 12 Angry Men!  Don’t forget that our ask box is always open for suggestions, questions, discussions, or just saying hi!  I hope you enjoyed it, and I hope to see you in the next article.

Published by RetroactiveReviewer

I'm a big twentieth-century (and a little 21st!) movie and TV buff, and I love musical theater, weightlifting, writing, and reading! I run a movie and tv-analysis/review blog, write, and run a fitness YouTube channel!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started